Kathy’s 321 Introduction

7 thoughts on “Kathy’s 321 Introduction

  1. Lovely, Kathy! I can’t believe this was your first animoto–it’s great!Doesn’t look like you ran out of characters at all. One thing that you can do, if you want to add more text than is allowed in animoto’s text boxes is to type the text somewhere else (I use power point for this a lot, because the slides are somewhat photo shaped already). I can add images or clip art if I want, and then use jing to save the slide as an image that I can upload just as I would a photo.Does that made sense? I generally start with the story (here, what I want to say about myself) and then look for photos. But, depending on the photos I have available the story might change. They’re pretty intertwined, for me.I look forward to seeing more from you. I’m really glad you’re here!

  2. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">HI Barbara,<div>Thanks for your kind note. &nbsp;I created several versions. &nbsp;The 30 section one only accommodated three of my slides. &nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>I had to rewrite and revise to find something that made sense. &nbsp;I’ll definitely try your idea. &nbsp;I think I was modeling it on yours, and definitely didn’t have that much text.&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>Where do you find "jing"?&nbsp;</div><div><br></div><div>It’s definitely getting more fun when it meets with success!!!</div><div><br></div><div>Kathy<br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  3. Kathy, that was wonderful! It captured what I know about you and I learned new things, too! I like your questions. Like Barbara, i thought of the story and then found pictures to represent the story. I struggled with the text limit, but in a way, I found I could make it work in a "less is more" way. Barb, great to know we can use ppt and jing. I imagine it might also be possible to save a ppt slide as a pdf and then just insert it as an image. Do you know if that would work?

  4. <br>I usually save the slide as ppt as pdf, so I can get rid of any underlining (if I have names, or something that the spellcheck doesn't recognize as a word). Then I use jing to take a picture of that to control how much white space is around the text. Actually, there are a lot of examples of this type of image in a video I put together for the 20th anniversary of Let's Go:?? <a href="http://animoto.com/play/9VXztNuC4LkPpuEdeyjrgA">http://animoto.com/play/9VXztNuC4LkPpuEdeyjrgA</a&gt;??<div><br></div><div>Many of the slides are a combination of jing captures and text in a ppt slide, printed as pdf and captured again as a png image with jing :)</div> <div><br></div><div>Hope this makes sense when you see the slides.??</div>

  5. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Thanks Catherine! &nbsp;I had no idea what jing was. &nbsp;I think I’ll write the new dictionary for the beginners in this course!<div><br></div><div>Thanks for your suggestions. &nbsp;Great ideas.</div><div>Kathy<br><div><div></div></div></div></body></html>

  6. Kathy, we have a handy dandy tutorial for using jing over on the wiki :)http://digitalstorytelling4kids.pbworks.com/w/page/49859728/Tutorials%20Week%202(how to capture an image)

  7. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Thanks for letting me know Barb. &nbsp;I’ll check that out tomorrow–now that I know what jing is.<div>Kathy<br><div><div><div></div></div></div></div></body></html>

Leave a Reply

